Games will be played in Canberra, Sydney, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Darwin, Alice Springs plus regional areas Newcastle, Wagga Wagga and Cairns.

Reserve sides from the four AFL clubs in those states—Brisbane Lions, Gold Coast SUNS, Sydney Swans and the Greater Western Sydney Giants—will also join the new league, providing terrific opportunities for clubs to rise to a high standard of football.

Game Structure

The NEAFL will consist of two conferences: the Northern Conference (Qld & NT teams) and the Eastern Conference (NSW & ACT teams).

For the majority of the year, teams will play other teams within their respective conferences. AFL clubs will play each other seven times during the season (five times in their own state and two games interstate), while local clubs will play 17 games.

However, the key point of difference between other state leagues and the NEAFL is that all teams will be able to play cross-conference games and travel interstate.

Teams within each conference will still compete for the awards and premiership success within their own conference, but the winner of each conference will also then go on to play in the NEAFL Grand Final. NEAFL structure