Throwback to Monday last week when Pennant Hills added their newest member to the Demon’s Phelan Medal club. Congrats, Stephen “Stinga” Wray

The Phelan Medal is an annual award given in the Sydney AFL. It is awarded to best and fairest player of the Premier Division competition each year and is named after former NSW League official James E. Phelan (1860–1939). It is seen to be the Sydney AFL equivalent to the Brownlow Medal.

This year the award was won by four players, Stephen Wray (Pennant Hills), Jake Veale (North Shore), Mitchell Conn (UNSW), Noah Casalini (St George) who were all joint winners on 11 votes. 

This is Pennant Hills’ first Phelan Medal since Ranga Ediriwickrama in 2019. He becomes one of four active Phelan Medalists at the club: Matt King Carey, Kieran Wright, Ranga Ediriwickrama & himself.

Congratulations Stephen on a fantastic year!

Stephen Wray Pennant Hills AFL Club Sydney AFL Phelan Medal